Register Login

Data Retention Management Interview Questions and Answers

Data Retention Management FAQs

1) Define Data Retention Management tool?

Data Retention Management allows the user to purge/delete the outdated data and inactive users from SuccessFactors, which in turns eliminates them from the system. User can also create business rules for specifying the exceptions or dependencies. Besides this, the user can create an approval workflow for oversight over data purge requests. In case user is interested in utilizing the Data Retention Management, then he should reach out to the SuccessFactors Customer Success for updating his/her account.

2) How can I turn on the data purge tool?

Data purge tool can be enabled by following:

  • By reaching out to the customer success representative, the user can turn on the data purge tool .It is advisable to test your test instance and testing thoroughly before trying this in production. 
  • Support Staff instructions: User is required to enable via provisioning search for a setting called “Enable Data Retention Management” which is listed under the company settings then hit save.

3) List the default state of the data purge tool?

  • Once the tool has been turned on by the customer success representative, the super admin (admin created via provisioning) will be able to access the tool (for the both create and approval permission). 
  • The super admin will have the rights for distributing the access to the other administrators. 

4) How does the user give an administrator access to the tool and what does each permission represent?

There are two permissions given to an administrator:

  1. Create Request
  2. Approve Request 

Create Request

A user can be given the permission for creating a data purge request:

Administrative domain permission model: 

  • Admin Tools -> Manage Security -> Administrative Privileges -> Data Management -> “Create Data Purge Request” permission.

Role based permission model:

  • Admin Tools -> Manage Permission Roles -> Edit role -> Manage Data Purge -> ”Create Data Purge Request” permission 

With this permission, the administrator will be able to submit a data/inactive user purge request via Admin Tools -> Data Management -> Manage Data
All requests can be viewed easily in the Admin Tools -> Data Management -> Maintenance Monitor

Approve Request

A user can be given the permission for approval of a data purge request:

Administrative domain permission model: 

Admin Tools -> Manage Security -> Administrative Privileges -> Data Management -> “Approve Data Purge Request” permission.

Role based permission model:

Admin Tools -> Manage Permission Roles -> Edit role -> Manage Data Purge -> ”Approve Data Purge Request” permission

All requests can then be approved in the Admin Tools -> Data Management -> Maintenance Monitor

Is it possible to restore the purged data? Is this purged data reversible?

No, it is not possible for restore the purged data, as the purpose of this tool is to permanently delete all the data. Incase user does not want to purge data then he should use this tool.

  • When the DRM tool is used, there is a way to make a temp backup. Presently, any data recovery request will have to be processed by using the disaster recovery process which requires the user to restore a backup copy of his instance to a new instance. The client will be fully responsible for the entire costs of creating this second instance from disaster recovery discs. This tool is created for satisfying the data privacy requirements for permanently purge data, so the backup only exist for a short period of time. 

Is it possible to recycle the purged users UserID or Usernames? 

As per B1611 the user permanent purge and user reactivation have been defined as self-service tools for customers.

Pre-Requirements: User is required to perform the user purge with the DRM tool before using the below-listed features:

The UserID’s can be reestablished via the user Import.

  • First, Create an import file which contains the users that the user wishes to reactivate
  • Ensure that the "reactivate purged users" option is ticked, before performing the user import
  • Import your user file.
  • Reviewing the import notification report for confirming the user(s) have been reactivated.
  • User will now be able to manage this user again.

The UserID’s can be permanently eliminated from the database.

  • The new permanent purge feature is listed via Admin tools > Data Management > “User Permanent Purge"
  • A user will have to provide the list of UserID's to purge permanently. If required, user can download a blank example template file by utilizing the 'download example' link.
  • When the user’s file is ready to be processed, browse to the file, hit upload and then click on submit for submitting the job.
  • Once the job is all completed, the user(s) is/are permanently purged. The user (or the requesting administrator) will receive an email which outlines the outcome of the permanent purge.

Can we customize the email notifications?

Presently, the email notifications are all generated by the data retention management tool and these are all hard coded in the system and cannot be altered or customized.

How can we resolve error 'User has EC Data'

The purge job can fail while enabling the Employee Central because of a Data or Permission issue with the EC related data.

User gets this response in following scenarios:

1) The user is Inactive in the system, however, they are not (for example) Terminated in employee Central. This could be because of the following reason -:

  • In the Job Information, the user is missing Hire and Termination records.

2) The user being purged is missing the Personal Information data

3) The user being purged has "some" but not all of the required data - possibly because they were initially created via import and initially not all of the data was imported.


×