A client that is not used any more should be deleted or has to be initialized for a client copy.
Resetting a client during a client copy (RSCLICOP or Transaction SCC0) is initialized with the new parameter:
"Initialize and create",
All tables are automatically reset for this client. This does not include the tables of the user administration.
How do you delete a client?
As of Release 3.0, this function is provided under 'Tools' in the administration menu (<=3.0C: SCC1, >=3.0D: SCC5).
You can also delete a client explicitely via R3trans. With this method, however, only those parts of the client are deleted which are in the tables of the client as the first key field.
Example for resetting the client 010 with R3trans:
In /usr/sap/trans/bin, create a command file with the following contents (for example remove.010):
Set the environment variables for the SAP System containing the client you want to delete. You can display the correct values by calling ./tp go <SID>
in the above directory.
Then start /usr/sap/<SID>/SYS/exe/run/R3trans
-w /usr/sap/trans/tmp/remove.010_SID -u 1
The call tail -f /usr/sap/trans/tmp/remove.010_SID
provides information on the progress of the delete operation.
If you have problems when resetting spool and batch input data, refer to Note 13620.
Problems with Transactions SCC1 and SCC5:
For Release 3.0B (SCC1), simply make any entry in the fields 'transport request' and 'source client' and press the pushbutton to delete the client.
The termination caused by the authorization check can be ignored: all data will be deleted consistently.
a) The warning 'Source client does not exist' can be ignored.
b) The message 'More than & tables were not copied or were copied incorrectly' is generated by a database inconsistency. Rebooting the database often helps here.
Check for the following error in the system log: SQL Error 55 during table access: ORA-00055 max. number of
In this case, parameter "dml_locks" in file "init<sapsid> has to be increased from 2500 to approx. 10000. If this does not help, the DB access can be switched to another mode during deletion as follows:
Save and start the following program: Report YDBSWTCH.
delete from ccdbcheck where dbsys = 'ORACLE'.
Releases 3.0C to 3.0D
Occasionally, only the user data USR* are deleted when the job is executed in the background. In this case, start the job in the foreground or use R3trans.
c) The job to delete a client terminates due to an authorization problem. When deleting clients, a new authorization check in the kernel terminates the process after the user profile is deleted. At this point, there are still about 1600 tables to be deleted. Delete the user SAP* and delete the client with the initial user SAP*, password PASS. This deletes the entire client.
d) If the option 'Also delete from T000' was checked, the entry is not deleted from T000 if a termination occurs. Delete the entry from table T000 using Transaction SM30.
e) The lock that was set by the active process was deleted. Thus, the log display cannot recognize that the run is still active. Use Transaction SM37 to check whether the job is still active. The missing lock does not affect the deletion.
f) Delete user SAP* in the client to be deleted if you have created a physical user SAP* before. Then you can log on as the initial user SAP* with password PASS. Only carry out the deletion under this user SAP*. The rights of this user are fixed in the R/3 System so that the problems mentioned above will be avoided.